Concerto for Marimba and Orchestra in One Movement (1994)

Commissioned by percussionist Loren Mach. Orchestral version premiered by the same on April 13, 1996 in Cincinnati, OH at the Cincinnati College-Conservatory of Music with the CCM Philharmonia under the direction of Wojciech Michniewski at the grand opening of the renovated Corbett Auditorium. Written exclusively at the MacDowell Colony in 3 weeks in August, 1994.

Duration: ca. 17:00

Excerpt 1

Excerpt 2

Excerpt 3

Excerpt 4

© Edward B. Marks Music Company. BMI.

Purchase piano reduction

Score and parts on rental from Hal Leonard Corp.


2 Flutes (2. doubles Piccolo)
2 Oboes (2. doubles English Horn)
2 Clarinets
2 Bassoons

2 Horns
2 Trumpets
2 Trombones

2 Percussionists


Marimba solo